Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Spanish Daughter

ebook
"An engrossing, suspenseful family saga filled with unpredictable twists and turns." —Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of Next Year in Havana
"With an equal mix of historical fiction, dramatic family conflict, and mystery, this tale should please fans of Christina Baker Kline, Lisa Wingate, and Kate Quinn." —Booklist
The Washington Post Books to Read Now | Ms. Magazine Reads for the Rest of Us | Bustle Most Anticipated Books | PopSugar Best Books | BiblioLifestyle Most Anticipated Historical Fiction Books | Book Riot Book Recommendations | Finer Things Book Lover Gifts They'll Actually Love


Perfect for fans of Julia Alvarez and Silvia Moreno-Garcia, this exhilarating novel transports you to the lush tropical landscape of 1920s Ecuador, blending family drama, dangerous mystery, and the real-life history of the coastal town known as the "birthplace of cacao."
As a child in Spain, Puri always knew her passion for chocolate was inherited from her father. But it's not until his death that she learns of something else she's inherited—a cocoa estate in Vinces, Ecuador, a town nicknamed "París Chiquito." Eager to claim her birthright and filled with hope for a new life after the devastation of World War I, she and her husband Cristóbal set out across the Atlantic Ocean. But it soon becomes clear someone is angered by Puri's claim to the estate...

When a mercenary sent to murder her aboard the ship accidentally kills Cristóbal instead, Puri dons her husband's clothes and assumes his identity, hoping to stay safe while she searches for the truth of her father's legacy in Ecuador. Though freed from the rules that women are expected to follow, Puri confronts other challenges at the estate—newfound siblings, hidden affairs, and her father's dark secrets. Then there are the dangers awakened by her attraction to an enigmatic man as she tries to learn the identity of an enemy who is still at large, threatening the future she is determined to claim...
"A lush Ecuadoran cacao plantation is the setting for this imaginative historical drama filled with sibling rivalry and betrayals. Threaded throughout this dramatic family saga are descriptions of cocoa-making that will leave your mouth watering for chocolate."
The Washington Post
"A sweepingly elegant historical novel." —Ms. Magazine


"A lushly written story of bittersweet family secrets and betrayals." —Andrea Penrose, author of Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens
"Passionate and suspenseful, The Spanish Daughter is a satisfying historical mystery set in a lush tropical land." —Foreword Reviews STARRED REVIEW
"Engrossing...As addictive as chocolate." —Publishers Weekly
"Richly captivating." —Woman's World
"A fascinating historical."—PopSugar

Expand title description text
Publisher: Kensington Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: December 28, 2021

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781496736260
  • Release date: December 28, 2021

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781496736260
  • File size: 1016 KB
  • Release date: December 28, 2021

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

"An engrossing, suspenseful family saga filled with unpredictable twists and turns." —Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of Next Year in Havana
"With an equal mix of historical fiction, dramatic family conflict, and mystery, this tale should please fans of Christina Baker Kline, Lisa Wingate, and Kate Quinn." —Booklist
The Washington Post Books to Read Now | Ms. Magazine Reads for the Rest of Us | Bustle Most Anticipated Books | PopSugar Best Books | BiblioLifestyle Most Anticipated Historical Fiction Books | Book Riot Book Recommendations | Finer Things Book Lover Gifts They'll Actually Love


Perfect for fans of Julia Alvarez and Silvia Moreno-Garcia, this exhilarating novel transports you to the lush tropical landscape of 1920s Ecuador, blending family drama, dangerous mystery, and the real-life history of the coastal town known as the "birthplace of cacao."
As a child in Spain, Puri always knew her passion for chocolate was inherited from her father. But it's not until his death that she learns of something else she's inherited—a cocoa estate in Vinces, Ecuador, a town nicknamed "París Chiquito." Eager to claim her birthright and filled with hope for a new life after the devastation of World War I, she and her husband Cristóbal set out across the Atlantic Ocean. But it soon becomes clear someone is angered by Puri's claim to the estate...

When a mercenary sent to murder her aboard the ship accidentally kills Cristóbal instead, Puri dons her husband's clothes and assumes his identity, hoping to stay safe while she searches for the truth of her father's legacy in Ecuador. Though freed from the rules that women are expected to follow, Puri confronts other challenges at the estate—newfound siblings, hidden affairs, and her father's dark secrets. Then there are the dangers awakened by her attraction to an enigmatic man as she tries to learn the identity of an enemy who is still at large, threatening the future she is determined to claim...
"A lush Ecuadoran cacao plantation is the setting for this imaginative historical drama filled with sibling rivalry and betrayals. Threaded throughout this dramatic family saga are descriptions of cocoa-making that will leave your mouth watering for chocolate."
The Washington Post
"A sweepingly elegant historical novel." —Ms. Magazine


"A lushly written story of bittersweet family secrets and betrayals." —Andrea Penrose, author of Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens
"Passionate and suspenseful, The Spanish Daughter is a satisfying historical mystery set in a lush tropical land." —Foreword Reviews STARRED REVIEW
"Engrossing...As addictive as chocolate." —Publishers Weekly
"Richly captivating." —Woman's World
"A fascinating historical."—PopSugar

Expand title description text